Expert Profile

Arnold Relman
Professor Emeritus of Medicine and of Social Medicine
Harvard Medical School

Arnold S. Relman, M.D., is currently Professor Emeritus of Medicine and of Social Medicine at the Harvard Medical School and Senior Physician at the Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston.

He was Editor-in-Chief of the New England Journal of Medicine from 1977 to 1991 and before that was Chairman of the Department of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine in Philadelphia from 1968 to 1977. From 1950 to 1968, he was on the faculty of medicine at Boston University School of Medicine and in 1967-68 was Chief of the BU Medical Service at the Boston City Hospital.

He is a board certified internist, a Master of the American College of Physicians, and a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of London. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences and a Senior Member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences.

He has been President of the American Federation for Clinical Research, the American Society for Clinical Investigation, and the Association of American Physicians. He has also served as a Trustee of Columbia University, and of the medical centers of Boston University and the University of Pennsylvania. He recently served a 6-year term on the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine and chaired its committee on the quality of care.

His current interests are health care policy and the reforms needed to improve the U.S. health care system. He has just completed a book on this subject, A Second Opinion. Rescuing America’s Health Care (Public Affairs, 2007).

Arnold Relman's discussions:

Who talks at NewTalk See All

Joxel Garcia Ponce School of Medicine
Chester E. Finn, Jr. The Thomas B. Fordham Foundation
Henry Farber Princeton University
Janet Corcoran Common Good
Taysen Van Itallie Director, Assistant Attorney General
Gene Steuerle The Peter G. Peterson Foundation

RSS Feeds


Upcoming See All

  • Risk and Legal Fear in Schools
    With Lenore Skenazy, Frederick Hess, Megan Rosker, Walter Olson, and Nancy McDermott. Start date: June 5