Expert Profile

Doug Chapin
Principal Officer and Director
MPR Associates, Inc.

Douglas M. Chapin, Ph.D., is a Principal Officer and Director of MPR, a role he has held since 1985. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and serves as Chairman of the National Research Council's Board on Energy and Environmental Systems.

During his career, he has chaired numerous studies and committees related to nuclear power plant operations and safety. From 2000 to 2002, he served as a member of the subcommittee of the Nuclear Energy Research Advisory Committee (NERAC) that oversaw the production of the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) roadmap for the near-term deployment program for operation of nuclear power plants in the United States by 2010 and the Generation IV program leading to advanced nuclear power plants in operation by the year 2030.

Dr. Chapin is currently a member on the Light Water Reactor (LWR) R&D work group, a joint industry DOE activity. He has extensive experience in electrical, chemical, and nuclear engineering, with particular application to nuclear and conventional power plant systems and associated components. He has worked in such areas as instrumentation and control systems, nuclear fuels, fluid mechanics, heat transfer, pumps, advanced analysis methods, test facility design, and electrical systems and components.

Dr. Chapin has a B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from Duke University, a certificate from the Bettis Reactor Engineering School, an M.S. in Applied Science from George Washington University, and a Ph.D. in Nuclear Studies and Nuclear Engineering from Princeton University.

Who talks at NewTalk See All

Richard Louv Last Child in the Woods
Theodore H. Frank Center for Class Action Fairness
Lee M. Kaplan MGH Weight Center and MGH Obesity Research Center
Suzanne Boas CCCS Atlanta
Jerry Wartgow Denver Public Schools (Fmr.)
Lenore Skenazy Free Range Kids

RSS Feeds


Upcoming See All

  • Risk and Legal Fear in Schools
    With Lenore Skenazy, Frederick Hess, Megan Rosker, Walter Olson, and Nancy McDermott. Start date: June 5