Expert Profile

Scott Bittle
Director of Public Issues Analysis
Public Agenda

Scott Bittle is Director of Public Issues Analysis at Public Agenda. He manages public opinion research and analysis at Public Agenda, including both its highly regarded research department and Public Agenda Online, which has been twice nominated for a prestigious Webby Award by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences.

An experienced editor and reporter who has worked for both online and print publications, Mr. Bittle is involved in the production of citizen education guides and is lead author of Public Agenda’s Confidence in U.S. Foreign Policy Index. Along with Public Agenda Executive Vice President Jean Johnson, he is the author of Where Does the Money Go? (Harper Collins, 2008), a book designed to help typical Americans understand the debate over the federal budget and national debt. He also served as an exit poll analyst for NBC News in the 2006 elections.

Prior to joining Public Agenda, Mr. Bittle was Editorial Development Manager for the Internet at Reed Travel Group, a division of Reed Elsevier. As such, he oversaw and produced content for several Web projects. Prior to his involvement with online services, Mr. Bittle worked for eight years as a reporter, copy editor, bureau chief, and political coordinator for the daily newspaper The Press of Atlantic City. He twice won the Golden Quill Award for feature articles and was honored by the Philadelphia Press Association for daily newspaper writing.

Mr. Bittle holds a B.A. in Communications and Journalism from Rowan University of New Jersey.

Scott Bittle's discussions:

Who talks at NewTalk See All

Eric Hanushek Hoover Institution, Stanford University
Hara Estroff Marano Psychology Today
Charlie Peters The Washington Monthly
Lynne Vaughan YMCA of the USA
Ben Hecht Living Cities, Inc.
Robert Pollin University of Massachusets Amherst

RSS Feeds


Upcoming See All

  • Risk and Legal Fear in Schools
    With Lenore Skenazy, Frederick Hess, Megan Rosker, Walter Olson, and Nancy McDermott. Start date: June 5