Expert Profile

Stuart Taylor
National Journal

Stuart S. Taylor, Jr. is a weekly opinion columnist for National Journal and contributing editor for Newsweek, writing about legal, policy and political issues of national and international importance. He has won various journalism awards and appeared on all major television and radio networks, including ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN, MSNBC, Fox, The News Hour with Jim Lehrer, Court TV, C-Span, National Public Radio, BBC, Canadian Broadcasting, Australian Broadcasting. He is also a nonresident senior fellow with the Brookings Institution and co-author, with KC Johnson, of a new, critically acclaimed book, Until Proven Innocent: Political Correctness and the Shameful Injustices of the Duke Lacrosse Rape Case (2007).

Taylor practiced law with Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering from 1978-1980. He joined the New York Times Washington Bureau in 1980, covering legal affairs from 1980-1985 and the Supreme Court from 1985-1988. Since then he has written commentary and in-depth magazine articles for The American Lawyer, Legal Times and their affiliates from 1989-1997 and for National Journal and Newsweek since 1998. He has also been published in other periodicals including The New Republic, Harper’s, Reader’s Digest, The Los Angeles Times, and The Washington Post and has contributed chapters to various books.

Taylor graduated from Princeton University in 1970 with an A.B. in History. After working as a reporter for the Baltimore Evening Sun and Baltimore Sun from 1971-1974, he moved to Harvard Law School, serving as a note editor for the Harvard Law Review and graduating in 1977 with high honors.

Who talks at NewTalk See All

Robert Pollin University of Massachusets Amherst
Walter Olson Cato Institute
Robert Berenson The Urban Institute
Randall Shepard Indiana Supreme Court
Lenore Skenazy Free Range Kids
Bob Kerrey The New School

RSS Feeds


Upcoming See All

  • Risk and Legal Fear in Schools
    With Lenore Skenazy, Frederick Hess, Megan Rosker, Walter Olson, and Nancy McDermott. Start date: June 5